Each layer can be marked as visible or not visible. This is done in the Layers Panel.
Clicking the checkbox on the right of each layer will toggle its visibility. Checking the box will trigger a re-draw of the map. If a layer is not visible none of the items on the map will draw.
This can be the source of some user frustration if they don’t realise the layer is hidden from view.